The Deceneus Journal
Deceneus Review
Episode 20: Historical Illiteracy
33
0:00
-2:21:57

Episode 20: Historical Illiteracy

Teaching History to High Schoolers, Disco Elysium, Presidential Debates, and Martyr Made.
33

Well, here we are, the 20th episode of The Deceneus Review. I couldn’t have done it without all of my great guests, permanent squatters, and fantastic listeners. This project of having an open forum discussion about topics that interest me in the same way I used to have in my younger coffee shop days is coming along even better than I imagined. Thank you for all the support and know that I have some great plans for the future. More episodes, more guests, and most of all more interesting conversation.

On this 20th episode permanent guest, basically co-host, and fantastic human being

and I are joined by fellow Shirestackian for a wonderful if somewhat dark conversation. We start off with Phisto updating us on his teaching gig and end on a note about 9/11.

The Deceneus Review is a listener-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

TODAYS EPISODE:

  • Teaching High School History

  • The point of the education system and credentialism.

  • Disco Elysium, the closest a videogame comes to rivaling the novel.

  • The embarrassing Presidential Debate

  • We discuss friend of the pod and former guest

    fantastic essay The End of Experience. Go read it now if you haven’t.

  • We poke the tiger and address the nonsense and attacks on

    after he went on the Tucker Carlson podcast.

  • 9/11

  • Star, my Swiss Shepard interrupts us a few times but being Swiss she’s rather neutral on the Churchill debate.

Once again I want to encourage all of you to listen to this podcast on your favorite platform, so please use the RSS feed to connect to Spotify or YouTube Music that way you never miss an episode. Also, feel free to slide into the comments and let us know what you think. Most of all if there is a guest you would like me to invite or a topic you want to hear us bring up let us know!

Until next time you historical deviants you!

Thanks for listening to The Deceneus Review! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

The Deceneus Journal
Deceneus Review
Esoteric discussions on art, literature, and culture in a decadent world.